Margaret J Hand Child Advocacy Award


The Margaret J. Hand Child Advocacy Award is presented each year at the CASAs for Kids Fund Annual Meeting.  The award was established in 1999 to honor Judge Margaret Hand and a CASA volunteer or community member who has proven to be a strong advocate for children.  For many years, the award was a beautiful hand carved plaque with the CASAs for Kids Fund logo, crafted and donated by Mick Lyle. 


This year (2019) the award will be presented to CASAs Jane and Charlie Stewart.  


Previous winners:

  • Judge Margaret Hand

  • Ellen Phelps (CASA)

  • Judge Loretta Rush

  • Betty Roberts (CASA)

  • Iona La Baw (DFC case manager)

  • Foster parents extraordinaire - Joyce & John Crichfield and Janet Freshour & the late Dick Freshour

  • CASA Marcile Eddy

  • CASA Barb Holt

  • Ken Weller (President of Legal Aid Corporation)

  • Susan McCully and Ellie Kaplan (Hogs and Frogs Co-chairs)

  • CASA Sharon Cornell

  • Mike Muinzer (Hogs and Frogs)

  • CASA Verdell Releford

  • The Tippecanoe CASA staff

  • Kappa Alpha Theta

  • CASA Val Hilbun

  • Retired board member Cheryl Coffin

  • CASA & former board member Larry Larrabee

  • Tom Easterday (Executive Vic-President of SIA)

  • And last year, our beloved CASA & board member, Mary Hood was the recipient

We Need Your Support Today!